

CONCERT SERIES 2024-2025

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

USA Bands Spring Concert

USA Symphony Band Robert D. Abend, conductor

USA Wind Ensemble William H. Petersen, conductor

Dublin Dances (2007)

Brian Boru's March The Minstrel Boy The Irish Washerwoman

...And the Antelope Play (2007)

John Carnahan (b. 1955)

Ayo: Rhapsody for Band (2022)

Katahj Copley (b. 1998)

Jan Van der Roost (b. 1956)

USA Symphony Band

Dance of the Jesters (1873)

Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) transcribed by Ray E. Cramer

Robert D. Abend, guest conductor

Tuba Concerto (1988)

Martin Ellerby (b. 1957)

Andante ma non troppo Allegro con brio

Mark D. Sayler, tuba soloist 2024-2025 Student Solo Competition Winner

Symphonic Dances from West Side Story (1967)

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) transcribed for band by Paul Lavender

USA Wind Ensemble

The Sixty-seventh Concert of Academic Year 2024-2025

Tuesday, April 22, 2025 7:30 p.m.

Laidlaw Recital Hall concert piano tunings are provided by



USA Symphony Band Personnel – Robert D. Abend, conductor

Flute
Trinity Mays *
Ella Criswell
Sophie Rogers
Jordan Parker
Jordy Alvarez
Mikayla White
Rachel Mason

Oboe

Rebecca Guthrie

Bassoon

Jaishon Robinson

Clarinet

Victoria Marks *
Christopher Hamm
Elaina Olewnik
Ariana Rice
Laura Rios
Eri Coulson
Sarah Lewis
Annalise Philen
Reefah Rahman

Bass Clarinet Aiden McCain Alto Saxophone Sam Hamner * Wesley Grant Jacob Foltman

Tenor Saxophone Megan Warren

Baritone Saxophone

Dario Olivera

Trumpet
Bri Phillips *
Hayden Bobe
Jared Freeman
Elizabeth Snow
Nathan Cobb
Matthew Owens
Desmond Foster

Horn

Mason Ledbetter *
Everett Salter
Katey Brown

* denotes principal

Trombone Andrew Vo * Nathan Sansom Bradley Zinck Michael Badger Rachel Myers Jeff Ward

Bass TromboneRobbie Kan
Dakota Ingram

Euphonium
Sean Cabral *
Jay Williams
Savana Dessino

Tuba

Josue Mendoza Torres *
Aidan Bullard

Percussion Myles Course Willie Floyd AJ Hunter Elias Jones

Evan Mercer

Luke Michael
Joshua Ryland

USA Wind Ensemble Personnel William H. Petersen, conductor

Flute

Katie Wallace *
Jaishon Robinson
Elizabeth Courtney
Sarah Harlin

Oboe

Evalynn Kluck Amy Selkirk +

Gretchen Greenwood#

Bassoon

Gunnar Nelson #

Clarinet

Andrew Covelli *
Duyen Tran
Kaylah Orso
Gabe Clark
Emma Bumpers
Shannon Kille
Andrew Diep
Elaina Olewnik

Bass Clarinet Christopher Hamm Caleb Morrison Alto Saxophone

Tristen Bodiford *
Preston Harper

Tenor Saxophone Greg Weatherly

Baritone Saxophone

Zion Shoots

Trumpet

Jaleel Hughes *
Ryan Perry
Liz Lajnef
Andrew McKinley
Zach Nelson
Jared Freeman

Horn

Noah Sugg * William Stoll Joshua Lightner Mason Ledbetter

* denotes principal + denotes USA Faculty # denotes guest performer Trombone

Jon Grayson Kerr * Kayin Hardy Marshall Waites

Bass Trombone Harrison Howell

EuphoniumHunter Brown *
Malory Stanley

Tuba

Drake Miller *
Javier Fernandez
James Barr

Percussion

Tyler Scott *
Simeon Tanner
Ryan Wright
Nathan Slater
Collin Westland
Westley Dixon

Keyboard

Alexandra Harvey