Outstanding Service Award

Description

The award recognizes career achievements in service to the department, college, university, community, and academic or disciplinary profession.

Eligibility

Any full-time faculty member of the College of Arts and Sciences who has been employed fulltime at USA for at least seven years preceding the year in which he or she receives the award is eligible. An individual may receive the award only once in their career at the University of South Alabama. Faculty must be employed in the College of Arts and Sciences at the time of receiving the award. Awards are given in the fall term.

Supporting Materials

A list of required and recommended supporting materials is indicated in the online InfoReady application. It is recommended that the department chair, a senior faculty member, or the nominator assist the nominee in preparation of these materials.

Cash Prizes

The award is accompanied by a cash prize of \$1500.00, subject to the availability of funds, at the sole discretion of the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and will be paid out of an account designated by the Dean which is not funded by appropriations from the State of Alabama. All cash awards will be subject to regular payroll withholding taxes and will be made through the normal payroll process.

Eligibility Caution

An individual may receive only one College award (teaching, dean's lecture, scholarship, graduate mentoring, service, advising, or directed studies) per academic year. If an individual is nominated for more than one award, s/he should decide which award s/he wants to be considered for and submit materials in support of that nomination only.

Selection of Recipients

The selection of award recipients will be made by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, based upon recommendations from the Faculty Awards Committee.

Nominations

Nominations for this award may be submitted by faculty, staff, and students in the College of Arts and Sciences. Self-nominations are accepted. Nominations should be submitted via email to: Dr. Benjamin Hill(bdhill@southalabama.edu), Faculty Awards Committee. Nominations are due by 5:00 p.m. on Feb.14, 2025.